As with all Multi Academy Trusts, our Trust Board holds overall responsibility for each Academy in Aquila. This volunteer board take an overview of the trust operation covering areas such as academic achievement, health and safety, finance and whole trust risk management. Their specific responsibilities are highlighted within the Articles of Association for the trust. The board must be strategic and focused on the trust as a whole but are able to delegate responsibilities at more local level. 

As part of this delegation each of our academies is served by a hard working group of volunteers known as the Local Governing Body. Without these volunteers our Academies would not be the success they are. They provide the aspiration, challenge and vision as part of the senior leadership team which drives the developments and improvements of each Academy which ultimately means the best possible outcomes for the children of that community.

We recognise that no two academies are the same and that is reflected in the priorities for each Local Governing  Body. The Multi Academy Trust Board must ensure it has a clear overview as the Board hold ultimate responsibility holds Academies and their leaders accountable where necessary. We have developed an approach that provides autonomy at local level but with a regular feedback loop of information.

An Aquila Local Governing Body is one that has a clear idea of its vision, is supportive of its leaders but uncompromising in the delivery of high standards and recognises what can be achieved when we work together. 

Local Governance Chairs

School  Name of Chair 
All Souls CE Primary School  Alan French 
Archbishop Courtenay CE Primary Ryan O'Connell
Brenzett CE Primary and Kingsnorth CE Primary Schools  Chris Myers 
Charing CE Primary David Millham 
Charlton CE Primary Hazel Groves
Eastchurch CE Primary School  Aaron Janes
Kennington CE Junior Anne Locke
Reculver CE Primary Sue Davis
St George's CE Primary Abi Oniye
St Mary of Charity Alison Morris
St Nicholas CE Primary  Julie Brown 
Temple Ewell CE Primary Jenny Olpin